Nunez Recognizes Faculty and Staff at Convocation 2022

Convocation 2022 Award Winners

Nunez Community College honored standout faculty and staff members from departments across the college at its annual Convocation program Aug. 15 in Chalmette.

Convocation signals the beginning of the academic year at Nunez, when full-time faculty and staff convene on campus to discuss plans and priorities. The theme for Convocation 2022 was Nunez’s 30th Anniversary.

"We were truly fortunate to celebrate the beginning of Nunez's 30th Anniversary year with a fully in-person Convocation program," said Nunez Chancellor Dr. Tina Tinney. "It was an opportunity to recognize the legacy of all the faculty and staff who have lent their talents to Nunez over the past 30 years and to meet with our team to celebrate and refocus on the growth that lies ahead."
Dr. Tinney delivered a sweeping ‘State of the College at 30’ presentation, which included pre-taped congratulations messages from past Nunez chancellors Dr. Tommy Warner and Dr. Carol Hopson. Suspense the Gameshow offered a fun break for faculty and staff at the program’s midway point, working some Nunez-based trivia into its quiz show format.  
A high point during each Convocation is the recognition of employees with various awards presented by Dr. Tinney. The Outstanding Professional Staff Member Award winner, Outstanding Professional Support Staff Member Award winner and the GEM (Great Employee Moments) Awards winners are all selected via peer nominations and voting. Both the Outstanding Professional Staff Member and the Outstanding Professional Support Staff Member were also recognized along with Nunez’s Excellence In Teaching Award winner, which was announced in May, at the Louisiana Community and Technical College System’s Annual Conference Sept. 7 in New Orleans.
And the winners are…
Outstanding Professional Staff Award – Treasure Burtchaell, Director of Financial Aid
Outstanding Professional Support Staff Award – Josie Dietz, Executive Secretary for Advancement
GEM Award for the Student-Centered Value – Jesús Melendez, Welding Program Chair
GEM Award for the Teaching and Learning Value – Jackie Cantrell, Assistant Director of General Accounting
GEM Award for the Caring Value – Randy Hartzog, Director of Facilities Management  
GEM Award for the Integrity Value – Tai Nguyen, Chief Financial Officer
GEM Award for the Innovation Value – Julie Rexford, Director of STEAM
Associate Professor of Theater and Video Production Nick Slie was selected by his peers in May as winner of the Excellence In Teaching Award and Lamarque Endowed Professorship.
Dr. Tinney also presented service pins to faculty and staff members celebrating their time at Nunez.
30 Year Service Awards
Josie Dietz, Executive Secretary for Advancement
25 Year Service Awards
Gwen Robinson, Professor of English
Ruth Varisco, Professor of Culinary Arts
20 Year Service Awards
Christine Griggs, Professor of Mathematics
Jason Hosch, Director of IT
Juliette Paul Jackson, Humanities Program Chair
15 Year Service Awards
Michele Minor, Registrar Office Coordinator
Pattie Timmons, Interim Property Manager
Lenny Unbehagen, Assistant Vice Chancellor of Education, Training, and Student Success
10 Year Service Awards
Andrew Durta, Associate Professor of Mathematics
Duane Jardine, Assistant Professor of Aerospace
Katherine Lemoine, Associate Vice Chancellor of Institutional Advancement
Randy Mire, Property Coordinator
Errol Schultz, Police Officer
5 Year Service Awards
Steve Baiamonte, Instructor of Electrical Construction
David Ballero, Maintenance Assistant
Charles Miller, Assistant Professor of Sociology
Glen Powell, Head Baseball Coach
Janice Santiago, Administrative Assistant
Karen Schubert, Instructor of Computer Information Systems  
Katie Townsend, Instructor of Patient Care Technician
Employees who joined Nunez in the past year were welcomed during Convocation. They include: PTEC Instructor David Blaney, Coordinator of Instruction Samantha DaLuz, Dean of Nursing and Allied Health Mary Fernandez, Director of Grants Jerry Graves, Student Success Coordinator Natalie Haniford, Maintenance Assistant Jorge Jiminez, Dean of Strategic Enrollment Management and Student Success Dr. April Lavergne, Director of IR/IE and Compliance SACSCOC Accreditation Liaison Dr. Darriona Lee, HRT/Culinary Program Chair Eric Mark, Financial Aid Counselor Jennifer Meyer, EMS Program Director Donald Mieger, Dean of Instruction Reggie Poche, Facilities Coordinator Alex Powell, Coastal GIS Instructor/Program Chair Jacqueline Richard, Student Success Coach Demarcus Robinson, PTEC/Instrumentation Program Director Kyle Steib, Student Success Coach Jade Warren and Office Manager Tanya Williams.
Executive Reports were provided by division leaders Dr. Cherie Kay LaRocca, Vice Chancellor of Education, Training, and Student Success; Katherine Lemoine, Associate Vice Chancellor of Institutional Advancement; Jason Leader, Executive Director of Strategic Engagement and Human Capital; and Tai Nguyen, Chief Financial Officer. Breakout sessions were held to update faculty and staff on Nunez’s new Grants Department, technical upgrades at Nunez, new features at the Nunez Library, and retirement plans for state employees.
Five faculty members were recognized for their promotion from instructor to assistant professors. These include Kathy Huff, CDYC and Social Sciences Program Chair; Duane Jardine, Aerospace; Anastasia Joyner, Culinary Arts; Andreas Pashos, Aerospace Program Chair; and Keith Province, Welding.
Smile Doctors sponsored a breakfast buffet for Nunez Faculty and Staff. Gay Parvazi of UNO Federal Credit Union, which provided lunch, offered brief financial tips to faculty and staff.
About Nunez Community College     
Nunez Community College is a student-centered institution that delivers relevant and innovative curriculum integrating the arts, sciences, and humanities leading to academic credentials and workforce opportunities. Nunez serves a vital role in the community by engaging with partners to support student success and personal growth. Nunez Community College is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC) to award associate degrees, certificates, and diplomas. Nunez is located at 3710 Paris Road, Chalmette, LA. For more information, visit