Phi Theta Kappa Induction at Nunez Community College

PTK Inductees

The Beta Theta Psi chapter of Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) at Nunez Community College held its new member fall induction ceremony on October 3, 2019 in the AST Auditorium on campus.  Dr. Klaus Heyer, Chapter Advisor, presided over the ceremony and Tonia Loria, Vice-Chancellor for Academics, provided the opening remarks.

Established by Missouri two-year college presidents in 1918, Phi Theta Kappa International Honor Society serves to recognize and encourage the academic achievement of two-year college students and provide opportunities for individual growth and development through honors, leadership and service programming.  Today, Phi Theta Kappa is the largest honor society in American higher education with more than 2 million members and 1,200 chapters located in 50 United States, U.S. territories, Canada and Germany.  In 1929, the American Association of Community Colleges recognized Phi Theta Kappa as the official honor society for two-year colleges.

Students who have completed 15 hours with a 3.5 grade point average are invited to join Phi Theta Kappa.

This semester's inductees include Shawn Bagert, Tamryn Barletto-Castigliola, Molly Bienvenu, Ashlee Esteves, Elizabeth Martinez, Austin McKinzie and Jonathan Sam.

PTK Officers for the 2019-20 academic year are Tamara Castigliola - President, Desiree Copping - VP, Tamryn Barletto- Castigliola - Secretary and
Joanna Manzella - Treasurer.