Announcements

Nunez Community College Holidays For 2022
Holiday Date Leave Type
Martin Luther King Day Monday, January 17, 2022 Holiday
Mardi Gras Tuesday, March 1, 2022 Holiday
Spring Holiday Friday, April 15, 2022 Holiday
Labor Day Monday, September 5, 2022 Holiday
Fourth of July Monday, July 4, 2022 Holiday
Thanksgiving Break Thursday, November 24, 2022 Holiday
  Friday, November 25, 2022 Holiday
Winter Holiday Break Thursday, December 22, 2022 Holiday
  Friday, December 23, 2022 Holiday
  Monday, December 26, 2022 Holiday
  Tuesday, December 27, 2022 Holiday
  Wednesday, December 28, 2022 Holiday
  Thursday, December 29, 2022 Holiday
  Friday, December 30, 2022 Holiday

LA R.S.  1:55 (F) provides:
F. Each institution of higher education in the state, through a representative appointed by it, shall designate a maximum of fourteen legal holidays per calendar year to be observed by all of its employees.

LCTCS Human Resources Policy #6:028 “Holidays for All Employees”

  • 14 legal holidays per calendar year.
  • System President & Chancellor’s to determine 14 paid holidays for each college.
  • Approved annually by the Board of Supervisors.
  • LCTCS HR publishes Holiday Schedule annually to all employees.
  • Holiday pay eligibility is based on the hours in which an employee is normally scheduled to work on the given day.

Governed by Civil Service Rule 6.12.1 titled “Compensation for Holidays.”
CS Rule 6.12.1 states that employees shall be eligible for compensation on holidays observed except:

  • When the employee’s regular work schedule averages less than 20 hours per week.
  • When the employee is on a restricted appointment.
  • When the employee is on leave without pay immediately preceding and following the holiday period.
  • When the employee is on an intermittent work schedule.